Posted by: tgrevatt | January 18, 2010

Errr…you do this for pleasure?

Yesterday I ran a local 5km race. I was apprehensive beforehand, despite having no ambitions for a fast finishing time – not fit enough to harbour those thoughts at the moment. Probably it was because I know that a 5km can hurt and that once it’s underway I’ll get the ‘gallops’ and pick up the pace (can’t seem to help it, oops). I did have a time in mind beyond which I didn’t want to finish, despite being many lbs above my normal running weight, and having no tempo training under the belt. Yeah, yeah, not rational at all but it’s what my mind does.

I had a lot of fun, but after we turned around, I started to ‘bolt for the barn’ (thanks Laurel for the company and support!) and we dropped a minute per km from our pace. Oh dear, I had probably got carried away – mild temps, no snow on the road and lots of people to pick off – it was just too much fun to move from Zone 1 plodding. Needless to say, the finish line kept moving away and when I finally crossed it there were some dry heaves and a heck of a lot of coughing.

But what a good feeling, running at tempo really makes the body feel alive, I felt like my furnace was really cranked for the rest of the day – the sort of feeling that doesn’t come from a zone 1 workout.

So yes, I do run in all sorts of silly weather conditions, sometimes slowly and with heavy, sluggish legs. Sometimes faster with a spring in my step. Sometimes I go beyond my fitness dictates I should and dig really deep – those are the most memorable ones!

Responses

  1. Thanks for the fun company, I had a great time! It takes a real runner to “run in all sorts of silly weather”! Welcome to the club…but then again, you’ve been in the club for awhile…LOL

  2. Hey that’s awesome! 🙂 Good stuff!

  3. Whether the weather is cold, or whether the weather is hot…
    Whatever the weather
    we’re in this together,
    whether we like it or not!

    Keep it goin, Treena.


Leave a Reply

Categories

